MEDIA‎ > ‎NEWS RELEASES‎ > ‎2012 News Releases‎ > ‎

Wyoming Counties Eligible for Federal Drought Assistance

posted Sep 13, 2013, 8:04 AM by Unknown user   [ updated Sep 13, 2013, 10:18 AM ]


State Capitol
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Ph. (307) 777-7437

August 15, 2012



Mary Kay Hill
(acting) Communications Director

Wyoming Counties Eligible for Federal Drought Assistance

CHEYENNE, Wyo. – As drought conditions persist throughout the state, Governor Matt Mead has been notified that 22 Wyoming counties have received primary disaster designations from Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack.  Additionally, Teton County has been named as a contiguous disaster county, allowing agriculture operators in all 23 Wyoming counties to be eligible for some form of federal assistance.

Governor Mead had requested drought declarations for the counties in light of worsening conditions throughout the state.  Teton County is the only county which did not report grazing loss and dryland hay loss in excess of the disaster threshold.

“Agriculture producers across the state are reporting severe conditions that impact their ability to feed livestock and produce hay,” Governor Mead said.  “The federal response to our request allows agriculture operators in both primary and continuous counties to be eligible for assistance.”

The operators are eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency.  Each producer must meet eligibility requirements and the assistance can include emergency loans.  Local Farm Service agencies throughout Wyoming can provide additional information to agriculture operators.