MEDIA‎ > ‎NEWS RELEASES‎ > ‎2011 News Releases‎ > ‎

Governor Mead presents Wyoming Tourism Award

posted Aug 30, 2013, 10:26 AM by Unknown user   [ updated Sep 12, 2013, 9:26 AM ]

Governor Mead presents Wyoming Tourism Award to Jackson Hotelier


CHEYENNE, Wyo. – Wyoming Gov. Matt Mead has presented the state’s tourism industry’s highest award, called the “Big Wyo” award, to Jackson hotelier and sportsman Steve Meadows.

In remarks before presenting the award, Governor Mead, who is a native of Jackson, said he recognizes the value of tourism and what it means to the state of Wyoming. Noting that its impact goes beyond producing tax revenues, Mead said, “It is an incredible thing to me that during the campaign (for Governor) I can’t tell you how many people I met who had moved to
Wyoming after coming here on vacation with their family, on business trips and so forth.”

Meadows is a partner in the Town Square Inns in Jackson which consists of the Antler, the Quality 49er Inn and Suites, Cowboy Village and others. He is a former President of the Wyoming Lodging and Restaurant Association and the Wyoming Travel Industry Coalition. He was the Chair of the Teton County Lodging Tax Board when it was in place over 10 years ago and helped pass the current tax.

Governor Mead said Meadows is a very active member of the Wyoming Wildlife and Natural Resource Board and spends many days each year visiting and assessing projects for the Fund. Mead noted the importance of the Wildlife and Natural Resource Trust Fund in providing conservation easements and other enhancements to Wyoming’s wildlife resource.
Each year the Wyoming Lodging & Restaurant Association presents the Big Wyo award to a person who has done an outstanding job in promoting tourism in the state of Wyoming.

The selection committee is made up of past BIG WYO winners.

The award has been presented since 1977 to leaders in Wyoming’s tourism industry, including Clarene and Creed Law, Gene Bryan, Edna Kennell, Bill Sniffin, Claudia Wade, Dave Rader, Pat Sweeney, Chuck Box and last year to former Governor Dave Freudenthal.